First National Financial mortgage rates in Calgary
First National Financial published a posted 5-year rate of 4.99% when we read its site on Nov 1, 2026. The lowest comparable rate from any lender that lends in Alberta was 4.59% (ATB Financial). First National Financial publishes the same rates across Canada.
| Term | Lowest special / advertised | Posted | Monthly at special | Monthly at posted |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1-year | — | 5.14% | — | $3,390.20 |
| 2-year | — | 5.34% | — | $3,456.38 |
| 3-year | — | 5.25% | — | $3,426.53 |
| 4-year | — | 5.17% | — | $3,400.09 |
| 5-year | — | 4.99% | — | $3,340.96 |
| 7-year | — | 5.37% | — | $3,466.36 |
| 10-year | — | 5.69% | — | $3,573.61 |
Every First National Financial rate we collected
| Term | Type | Insured | Kind | Rate | Fine print | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 5.14% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 680+. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 1-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 5.29% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 650-679. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 1-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 5.54% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 600-649. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 1-year | Fixed | Insured | posted | 5.74% | Row 'Insured'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mortgage… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 1-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.74% | Row 'Insurable up to 65% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursda… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 1-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.74% | Row 'Insurable > 65% - 70% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 1-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.74% | Row 'Insurable > 70% - 75% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 1-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.74% | Row 'Insurable > 75% - 80% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 1-year | Fixed | Uninsured | posted | 5.74% | Row 'Conventional'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mor… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 1-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 5.79% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 580-599. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 1-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 6.04% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band < 580. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as o… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Insured | posted | 5.34% | Row 'Insured'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mortgage… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.34% | Row 'Insurable up to 65% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursda… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.34% | Row 'Insurable > 65% - 70% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.34% | Row 'Insurable > 70% - 75% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.34% | Row 'Insurable > 75% - 80% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Uninsured | posted | 5.34% | Row 'Conventional'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mor… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 5.39% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 680+. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 5.64% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 650-679. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 5.89% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 600-649. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 6.14% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 580-599. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 2-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 6.29% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band < 580. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as o… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Insured | posted | 5.25% | Row 'Insured'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mortgage… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.25% | Row 'Insurable up to 65% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursda… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.25% | Row 'Insurable > 65% - 70% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.25% | Row 'Insurable > 70% - 75% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.25% | Row 'Insurable > 75% - 80% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Uninsured | posted | 5.25% | Row 'Conventional'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mor… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 5.49% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 680+. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 5.74% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 650-679. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 5.99% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 600-649. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 6.24% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band 580-599. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 3-year | Fixed | Not split | posted | 6.49% | Excalibur (alternative/credit-tiered) program, credit score band < 580. Insured status and open/closed not stated (assumed closed). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as o… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 4-year | Fixed | Insured | posted | 5.17% | Row 'Insured'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mortgage… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 4-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.17% | Row 'Insurable up to 65% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursda… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 4-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.17% | Row 'Insurable > 65% - 70% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 4-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.17% | Row 'Insurable > 70% - 75% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 4-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.17% | Row 'Insurable > 75% - 80% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 4-year | Fixed | Uninsured | posted | 5.17% | Row 'Conventional'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mor… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Adjustable | Insured | posted | 3.95%* prime − 0.75 | Row 'Insured'. Only the spread is shown (no resulting %), so rate null; page states 'First National Prime Rate: 4.70'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, O… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Adjustable | Insurable | posted | 4.00%* prime − 0.70 | Row 'Insurable up to 65% LTV'. Only the spread is shown (no resulting %), so rate null; page states 'First National Prime Rate: 4.70'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective a… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Adjustable | Insurable | posted | 4.20%* prime − 0.50 | Row 'Insurable > 65% - 70% LTV'. Only the spread is shown (no resulting %), so rate null; page states 'First National Prime Rate: 4.70'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Adjustable | Insurable | posted | 4.25%* prime − 0.45 | Row 'Insurable > 70% - 75% LTV'. Only the spread is shown (no resulting %), so rate null; page states 'First National Prime Rate: 4.70'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Adjustable | Insurable | posted | 4.29%* prime − 0.41 | Row 'Insurable > 75% - 80% LTV'. Only the spread is shown (no resulting %), so rate null; page states 'First National Prime Rate: 4.70'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Adjustable | Uninsured | posted | 4.29%* prime − 0.41 | Row 'Conventional'. Only the spread is shown (no resulting %), so rate null; page states 'First National Prime Rate: 4.70'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursd… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Fixed | Insured | posted | 4.99% | Row 'Insured'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mortgage… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.04% | Row 'Insurable up to 65% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursda… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.09% | Row 'Insurable > 65% - 70% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.14% | Row 'Insurable > 70% - 75% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Fixed | Insurable | posted | 5.19% | Row 'Insurable > 75% - 80% LTV'. insured value 'insurable' = page's Insurable LTV tier (lender-insured, borrower 20%+ down). Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thurs… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 5-year | Fixed | Uninsured | posted | 5.20% | Row 'Conventional'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mor… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 7-year | Fixed | Insured | posted | 5.37% | Row 'Insured'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mortgage… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 7-year | Fixed | Uninsured | posted | 5.37% | Row 'Conventional'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mor… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 10-year | Fixed | Insured | posted | 5.69% | Row 'Insured'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mortgage… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
| 10-year | Fixed | Uninsured | posted | 5.69% | Row 'Conventional'. Section 'Posted Rates'. 'Rates effective as of Thursday, October 29, 2026 for qualified residential properties.' 'Rates are for single-family residential mor… | page as of Oct 29, 2026 |
Highlighted rows are the lowest special or advertised rate for that term and type among the rows shown. * = the lender's own prime rate plus its stated spread. Collected Nov 2, 2026; check the lender's page before relying on any rate.
Prepayment and penalties
“Three months' interest = amount × (current rate ÷ 4); the IRD estimate is (amount × (current rate − the current rate for a similar mortgage) × months remaining) ÷ 12. For terms longer than 5 years, after the 5th year the charge is 3 months' interest.” Source
In Alberta
“Alberta: Mortgage Brokerage License with the Real Estate Council of Alberta; Restricted Insurance Agent No. 93-3851780 with the Alberta Insurance Council” Source
Prime rate 4.70% as stated on its site (as of Oct 29, 2026).
First National lends through mortgage brokers and publishes one rate grid by insurance tier and loan-to-value.
CalgaryMortgageRates.com isn't affiliated with First National Financial and isn't paid by any lender.
| First National Financial posted 5-yr | 4.99%read Nov 1, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Lowest Alberta special (ATB Financial) | 4.59% |
| Mortgage | $575,00020% down on the City's median detached assessment |
| Monthly payment, special → posted | $3,211.30 → $3,340.96 |
| Interest gap over 5 years | $11,039why you negotiate below a posted rate |

Frequently asked questions
What is First National Financial's 5-year mortgage rate in Calgary?
On Nov 2, 2026 First National Financial's own site showed a posted 5-year rate of 4.99%. It publishes the same rates across Canada.
How does First National Financial calculate its penalty?
Three months' interest = amount × (current rate ÷ 4); the IRD estimate is (amount × (current rate − the current rate for a similar mortgage) × months remaining) ÷ 12. For terms longer than 5 years, after the 5th year the charge is 3 months' interest.